What is ADVANCE (the NSF ADVANCE Program)?

What is the NSF ADVANCE program?
The National Science Foundation ADVANCE Program aims to increase the participation of women in the scientific and engineering workforce through the increased representation and advancement of women in academic scientific and engineering careers. To meet this goal, the NSF ADVANCE Program provides
opportunities for both individuals and organizations, including Fellows Awards, Institutional Transformation Awards and Leadership Awards. Through ADVANCE awards, NSF seeks to support new approaches to improving the climate for women in U.S. academic institutions and to facilitate women's advancement to the highest ranks of academic leadership.
(Please see the NSF ADVANCE web site at http://www.nsf.gov/crssprgm/advance/ for more information).
What other institutions have received funding from NSF ADVANCE?

In total there are 44 Institutional Transformation awardees. The first cohort of grantees (2001) included 9 institutions:

  • Hunter College
  • University of Colorado-Boulder
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  • New Mexico State University
  • University of Puerto Rico
  • University of California-Irvine
  • University of Washington
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison

The second cohort (2003) included 10 institutions:

  • Case Western Reserve University
  • University of Montana
  • Columbia University
  • University of Rhode Island
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • University of Texas-El Paso
  • Kansas State University
  • Utah State University
  • University of Maryland Baltimore County
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute.

The third cohort (2005) included 9 institutions:

  • Brown University
  • California State Polytechnic University
  • Cornell University
  • Iowa State University
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)
  • University of Arizona
  • University of Illinois-Chicago
  • University of North Carolina-Charlotte
  • William Marsh Rice University

The fourth cohort (2008) included 9 institutions:

  • Michigan State University
  • North Dakota State University
  • Northeastern University
  • Ohio State University
  • Purdue University
  • Rutgers University
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Washington State University
  • Wright State University

The most recent, fifth cohort (2010) includes 7 institutions:

  • West Virginia University
  • University of Maryland, College Park
  • Lehigh University
  • Texas A&M University
  • University of Maine
  • Syracuse University
  • Jackson State University